What am I reading? Thanks for asking, let me tell you…

I’m sure no one is on the edge of their chair waiting to see what I’m reading. But I’ll tell you anyway 🙂

I have been reading and thoroughly trying to understand…
“The God Who is There”, by Francis Schaeffer. This book is, for me, difficult to wade through. I don’t always track with this kind of book – I’m just not that smart. But I am trying and it is very interesting. It has to do with historic Christianity and a shift in philosophy leading to a shift in arts, culture and finally theology. Since Francis Scaeffer wrote this book in 1968, much has changed and yet much has not. I’d say more, but as I already said, I’m just not clever enough to discuss this book (yet).

Also reading… “Light in the North” by J.D.Douglas and edited by F.F. Bruce about the Scottish Covenanters. I am really enjoying this book. It is also difficult to wade through, but for different reasons. I just need to figure out who all the people are and how they figure into the historical accounts. Some sort of table or chart might be helpful. I’m taking notes as I go so that I can keep it straight. I don’t think I ever learned about the history of the Church from this period in Scotland. I guess our basic education tends to focus on American Church history, English Church history (America’s roots). I am enjoying reading this history.

“The End of Education” by Neil Postman. So far, also interesting. As I consider why we homeschool and how and to what end, this is a helpful book – although it is not a book about homeschooling and is definitely not a Christian book.

“Parenting the Hurt Child” by Dr. Gregory Keck. This book is about parenting an adopted or foster child. I have found some of this book to be helpful. As with all books that I read that I might try to practically apply in real life, I need to be careful to press it through the sieve of biblical wisdom and truth. Often, Al has to help bring me back to that 🙂

So, there it is. What I am reading.

Leave a Reply

