I keep forgetting that kids think in VERY literal terms…

Here I am with Daniel at VBS this week (thanks for the pic, Barb). I just love this boy!

Last week we had communion and the kiddos always sit with us and observe. We’ve discussed it with them a little bit, but I realized maybe not enough when this exchange took place as we were leaving the building where the unused full communion cups were being poured back into the grape juice bottles…

Mom: “C’mon guys, we have to get going.”

Daniel: “Mom!!! It’s grape juice!!!!”

Later that night….

Daniel: “Mom, I know what you were drinking at communion. It was grape juice.” (He said as if he was letting me in on a big secret)

Mom: “I know. What did you think we were drinking??”

Daniel: “Blood.”

I guess he pays attention to the service more than I realized.

Leave a Reply

