A Vision for the Generations

It started with our new/used ipod… I reset the ipod, then downloaded i-tunes, then decided to check out this thing called podcasts. I am not too old or too electronically naive to be completely in the dark regarding podcasts – but I’m only working with a nightlight’s knowledge of the whole thing!

So I went to Desiring God first for some podcasts**. In the providence of God and His sovereignty even over my podcast subscriptions, I listened to most of “Let No One Despise You for Your Youth.”, by John Piper. I think that parents, youth workers, youth, teachers, singles, anyone and everyone should click and listen/read/watch/whatever to this message. Soooo good!

From the sermon:

“One of our premises is that living for the glory of Christ is not on hold until you are eighteen or twenty-one. There is a way for six-year-olds to make much of Christ and a way for ten-year-olds to make much of Christ and a way for sixteen-year-olds to make much of Christ. And there is a way for parents and church leaders and all of us to create a matrix of relationships and teachings and expectations and blessings that awaken young people from the emptiness and aimlessness of our popular youth culture and give them a vision for Christ-exalting significance throughout their pre-teen and teen years.”

YES! I want that vision…

Here are some of the scriptures that are used throughout… (I Timothy 4:11-16 is the central scripture text for the sermon)

“Even to old age and gray hairs, O God, do not forsake me, until I proclaim your might to another generation, your power to all those to come.” Psalm 71:18

“All that generation also were gathered to their fathers. And there arose another generation after them who did not know the Lord or the work that he had done for Israel.” Judges 2:10

“Behold, I was brought forth in iniquity, and in sin did my mother conceive me” Psalm 51:5

“Folly is bound up in the heart of a child” Proverbs 22:15

“O God, from my youth you have taught me, and I still proclaim your wondrous deeds” Psalm 71:17

“You, O Lord, are my hope, my trust, O Lord, from my youth” Psalm 71:5

“Remember not the sins of my youth or my transgressions; according to your steadfast love remember me, for the sake of your goodness, O Lord!” Psalm 25:7

“Everyone who believes in him receives forgiveness of sins through his name.” Acts 10:43

I plan to finish listening to the rest of the sermon while I do the dishes tonight.

**edit: The 2nd podcast I went to was “This American Life” with Ira Glass – in case you wanted to know.

Leave a Reply

