My camera works again

Al fixed my camera memory card problem – and by fixed I mean he picked it up, turned it on, and said “I don’t know what you were talking about, it works for me.” So now I can post some new pics along with an update.

It’s hard to believe we’ve had Ezra for almost 5 weeks already. I think with Ruth and Daniel the GERD colic was in full force by 5 weeks home. Ahh…the memories! Anyway, Ezra is doing wonderfully. He is a sweet, happy, curious, intense and often hungry baby boy. He has been showing some attachment in his preference for me in groups of people, which is a good thing for attachment, but everyone wants to hold him and I like to share!

When Ezra came home at 9 months old, he was rolling over but not sitting up and he had no muscle tone in his teeny little legs. He weighed about 12lbs. Now he is sitting up for short periods unassisted and for longer periods with assistance. Before, his legs were like spaghetti. Now, his legs are getting stronger and he actually locks them when I hold him up on my lap for bouncing. And now, he weighs a whopping 15.4 lbs! He loves to eat and he loves the bottle. Also, he cut his first tooth last week!

I’m sure that you have read or heard the sermons by John Piper about adoption or perhaps heard Russell Moore or Thabiti Anyabwile talk about it. I certainly cannot add to anything in explaining that Adoption is the Heart of the Gospel or draw better spiritual analogies, however from a mother’s perspective, I can say that the truth of what these men teach is alive and living for me in our family and experience. I count it a privilege and I am humbled that we were able to add a child to our family through adoption. We have learned more about the grace of God in our own adoption into His family. Ezra is easy to love and take into our family. We were unlovely sinners and enemies of God (have you read Ezekiel 16?) when, by His grace, he saved and adopted us! We are new creatures in Christ! (I recommend clicking on the links above for some great teaching about adoption and the Gospel!)

And now, here are some pictures!

One Response

  1. Hello – When I blogged WordPress automatically generated your blog. So of course I looked because I am curious. We are in the process of adopting from Ethiopia. Could you share some of your experiences with me and if you adopted your child as an infant or older child? Our hope is to adopt a child in the midst of other children. It has been quite a process of examining every angle and how it affects our biological children, adopted children and ourselves.

Leave a Reply

