A Gospel Primer for Christians

Here are some excellent quotes taken from Milton Vincent’s “A Gospel Primer for Christians”. It’s not a booklet talking about evangelization; it’s a booklet talking about living out of the Gospel and rehearsing the Gospel to yourself everyday. Vincent first began to experience these truths after reading “The Discipline of Grace” by Jerry Bridges.

From the introduction…”God did not give us His gospel just so we could embrace it and be converted. Actually, He offers it to us every day as a gift that keeps on giving to us everything we need for life and godliness. The wise believer learns this truth early and becomes proficient in extracting available benefits from the gospel each day. We extract these benefits by being absorbed in the gospel, speaking it to ourselves when necessary, and by daring to reckon it true in all we do.”

Part I of the booklet is called, ‘Reasons to Rehearse the Gospel Daily’ and is filled with 20 motivating reasons, all reinforced by Scripture throughout, for the believer to remind himself of the gospel everyday! Vincent maintains that the life of the believer rooted in these truths is part of the power of the gospel to unbelievers. Here are a couple of Vincent’s reasons…

The Power of God: Outside of heaven, the power of God in its hightest density is found inside the gospel. This must be so, for the Bible twice describes the gospel as ‘the power of God.’ Nothing else in all of Scripture is every described in this way, except for the Person of Jesus Christ. Such a description indicates that the gospel is not only powerful, but that it is the ultimate entity in which God’s power resides and does its greatest work.”

Perspective in Trials: More than anything else could ever do, the gospel enables me to embrace my tribulations and thereby position myself to gain full benefit from them. For the gospel is the one great permanent circumstance in which I live and move; and every hardship in my life is allowed by God only because it serves His gospel purposes in me. When I view my circumstances in this light, I realize that the gospel is not just one piece of good news that fits into my life somewhere among all the bad. I realize instead that the gospel makes genuinely good news out of every other aspect of my life, including my severest trials (Romans 5:1-5). The good news about my trials is that God is forcing them to bow to His gospel purposes and do good unto me by improving my character and making me more conformed to the image of Christ.

Preaching the gospel to myself each day provides a lens through which I can view my trials in this way and see the true cause for intelligent rejoicing that exists in them. I can then embrace them as friends and allow them to do God’s work in me.”

Part II of the booklet is called A Gospel Narrative; Prose Version and Part III is A Gospel Narrative; Poetic Version. If your appetite has been whetted by these selections, click here for the pdf version of the booklet.

Leave a Reply

