Just do it…

Resolutions. Do you make them this time of year? Here are some Scripture resolutions:

Daniel 1:8a (As a captured youth) “But Daniel resolved that he would not defile himself…”
Daniel was placed in the company of other ‘elite’ captured jewish youth. He was given a new name and was meant to be trained for special service. However, when the trial of the king’s food came, we see no fear. Instead we see a resolute declaration and intention. Praise God that Daniel resolved in this way and that by the grace of God and the faith and obedience of Daniel, this resolution was kept!

Ruth 1:16-18 “But Ruth said, “Do not urge me to leave you or to return from following you. For where you go I will go, and where you lodge I will lodge. Your people shall be my people, and your God my God. Where you die I will die, and there will I be buried. May the LORD do so to me and more also if anything but death parts me from you.” And when Naomi saw that she was determined to go with her, she said no more.” Here is another big resolution. One that was life-changing and placed Ruth in the lineage of Christ. Again we see the grace of God and the faith and obedience of Ruth. Remember that Ruth could’ve kissed bitter Naomi and been rid of her to go back to her own people. But she knew Naomi’s God was the one true God and was determined to follow Naomi and to follow Him.

Job 31:1-4 “I have made a covenant with my eyes; how then could I gaze at a virgin? What would be my portion from God above and my heritage from the Almighty on high? Is not calamity for the unrighteous, and disaster for the workers of iniquity? Does not he see my ways and number all my steps?” Job was called a blameless man by God. Job’s resolution had to do with a knowledge of God and an understanding of temptation leading to sin. He had a full comprehension of the following teaching that we also see in James 1:14-15…”But each person is tempted when he is lured and enticed by his own desire. Then desire when it has conceived gives birth to sin, and sin when it is fully grown brings forth death.”

Isaiah 50:7 “But the Lord GOD helps me; therefore I have not been disgraced;therefore I have set my face like a flint, and I know that I shall not be put to shame.”

II Corinthians 2:1-5 Paul says, “And I, when I came to you, brothers, did not come proclaiming to you the testimony of God with lofty speech or wisdom. For I decided (resolved) to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. And I was with you in weakness and in fear and much trembling, and my speech and my message were not in plausible words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, that your faith might not rest in the wisdom of men but in the power of God.” Isn’t this amazing?!

I am reminded that my resolutions need to be sober, prayer-saturated, grounded in the attributes of God and attended to by God’s grace with faith and obedience always with an eye on the glory of God. Sure I want to lose 10lbs or become more organized or whatever… but I won’t resolve to do those things. I will instead look to James 1:19-25

“Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger; for the anger of man does not produce the righteousness of God. Therefore put away all filthiness and rampant wickedness and receive with meekness the implanted word, which is able to save your souls.

But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks intently at his natural face in a mirror. For he looks at himself and goes away and at once forgets what he was like. But the one who looks into the perfect law, the law of liberty, and perseveres, being no hearer who forgets but a doer who acts, he will be blessed in his doing.”

And I will remember this… James 5:12 “But above all, my brothers, do not swear, either by heaven or by earth or by any other oath, but let your “yes” be yes and your “no” be no, so that you may not fall under condemnation.”

And I will be thankful that God purposes, resolves, determines, and acts for his glory and for my good! All of his promises are ‘yes’ in Christ!

For more resolution reading, here is a list of Jonathan Edwards’ resolutions…

Leave a Reply

