Overcomers – Earthdwellers – Arturo Azurdia

Some actual Thoughts from the Teahouse (interspersed with a few quotes!) – as I’ve not posted anything too original in a while…

I have been listening to a series on Revelation by Arturo Azurdia. He is currently featured at Monergism and this is what they say about him:

“For those of you who are not familiar with this godly man yet, I would like to introduce you to Arturo Azurdia, a contemporary reformer, and now a good friend. If you don’t know him, you should take the time to become familiar with him. He is truly one of the best expositional preachers I have had the honor to hear and one who the Holy Spirit makes good use of. I am continually edified by his style and content. It goes without saying that he is committed to justification by grace through faith alone but also strongly defends Monergistic regeneration. He once pulled me aside and quietly said to me “John, I believe the heartbeat of Reformation theology is that regeneration precedes faith.” I perked up cause he was speaking my language.

Below I am including a few links to resources that I think you will find very helpful, especially his series on the Book of Revelation and the doctrines of grace:

An Exposition of the Book of Revelation Arturo Azurdia(mp3s) – 81 Sermons Considered by many to be the most perplexing portion of sacred Scripture, its essential message is straightforward and relevant: The Lion/Lamb has conquered His enemies, and we as His people will share in that conquest as we persevere in faithfulness to Him. Rather than a titillating checklist of future events, the Revelation of Jesus Christ is the final installment of God’s word for the practical benefit of all Christians everywhere”


I am only three sermons into the 81 and I might not ever get through all of the sermons. But so far I am engrossed and I’m enjoying listening. Arturo says that Revelation is a book of black and white – right and wrong – good and evil.

“We’re living in a day, beloved, when anything that is socially unacceptable is to suggest that there is anything socially unacceptable. The only heresy is to suggest that something is heresy. The book of Revelation will put that to bed right now. Because you see, that according to this book, every person on this planet is defined by one of two labels; there are the overcomers, true followers of Jesus Christ who remain faithful to the gospel even to the very end of their lives, there are the earth dwellers – those bound to this world’s system, philosophy and culture in direct opposition to Jesus Christ. I grant you, beloved, that the book of Revelation is not evangelistic, that is not explicitly but it is evangelistic implicitly. It will prove to you what side you belong to – Do you belong to the Lion? or the dragon? Do you belong to the Lamb? or the beast? Is your destiny the lake of fire or the New Jerusalem?”

I have been considering what it is to be an overcomer. Hebrews 10 talks about our need for endurance- “For you have need of endurance, so that when you have done the will of God you may receive what is promised.” and at the end…”But we are not of those who shrink back and are destroyed, but of those who have faith and preserve their souls.” Our friend, Mr.Ben, shared this passage (in a longer contextual passage), with Al recently. I have begun to meditate on this passage as I listen to the Revelation series and as I prepare to attend the Desiring God – Stand conference.

Are overcomers obvious? Are there ‘secret’ overcomers that will surprise us in glory? Are earth-dwellers obvious? Am I an overcomer? (yes, I believe so!) Are you an overcomer? What will I have to endure? How can I endure? Can I help others to endure? The answers to these questions are answered in God’s Word, not in the opinions of man. If man were to judge, there would always be someone better or worse and the sin-infected standard would change. God is perfectly unchanging, his plan is unchanging and his methods and ways with man are unchanging.

Trust and love God, don’t shrink back, love others and persevere by the grace of God!

Leave a Reply

