5 Reasons I Love Jesus

Tracy tagged me for 5 Things I love about Jesus. What a great meme (whatever that word means!). Like Tracy and everyone else who posted, I wonder how to distill this into 5 thoughts. Here is an attempt. I do know that if he hadn’t made light to shine in my heart, this love for Jesus would be alien to me.

1. His perfection in life on earth.
For to this you have been called, because Christ also suffered for you, leaving you an example, so that you might follow in his steps. He committed no sin, neither was deceit found in his mouth. When he was reviled, he did not revile in return; when he suffered, he did not threaten, but continued entrusting himself to him who judges justly.” I Peter 2:21-23

2. His perfection in death on the cross.
“He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, that we might die to sin and live to righteousness. By his wounds you have been healed.” I Peter 2:24-25

3. His propitiation for my sins, the imputation of His righteousness – He is my righteousness.
“For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.” II Corinthians 5:21

4. His position with God the Father in Glory and yet His nearness to me.

“Therefore God has highly exalted him and bestowed on him the name that is above every name, so that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.” Philippians 2:9-11


“And one of the elders said to me, “Weep no more; behold, the Lion of the tribe of Judah, the Root of David, has conquered, so that he can open the scroll and its seven seals.” And between the throne and the four living creatures and among the elders I saw a Lamb standing, as though it had been slain, with seven horns and with seven eyes, which are the seven spirits of God sent out into all the earth.” Revelation 5:5-6

5. His preparation of my eternal habitation that will include Christ himself!
“Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also.I John 1:1-3

And don’t judge me too harshly for this video (cessationist or not:) – it just makes me smile! I remember listening to Carman in the 90’s.

Leave a Reply

