Egg on my face…

HAVE EGG ON ONE’S FACE:

Look foolish or be embarrassed, as in “If you ask any more personal questions, you’ll end up with egg on your face”. This expression possibly alludes to dissatisfied audiences pelting performers with raw eggs. [Colloquial;mid-1900s]From _The American Heritage Dictionary of Idioms_ (1997) by Christine Ammer

To be embarrassed. Example: Make sure you have your story straight, go public without the facts and you will have egg on your face. Origin: From the embarrassment suffered if the yellow yolk is on ones lips or beard after eating a soft boiled egg in one of those egg cups, a favorite breakfast of the upper crust… Yellow egg shows up especially well on a beard or mustache. Thanks to John Gold

Pretend that James Carville is actually me (only a little less annoying and a woman and with a little more hair…use your imagination!)

I have egg on my face because…I sent a comment email about a post meant for Shawnda of Spirit of Adoption to Rebecca of Rebecca Writes. What? That doesn’t seem like a big deal? Well it is to me and I feel like I’ve got sunnyside up written all over my face. So, after emailing an apology to one and forwarding the original email to the other, I decided to ‘fess up to the rest of the world that, gulp…I’m not perfect. Ha! I know you knew that already!! But it feels good to write it. Cathartic. Real. Freeing. In fact, it feels so good that I’m ready to tell you about the time we were sitting in church during the really quiet part of communion and my little girl, all of a sudden out of nowhere, made a disgusting… Oops, I guess I’m not ready for that level of openness.

Leave a Reply

