Great is Thy Faithfulness

The hymn, Great is Thy Faithfulness, is rolling around in my head today. First, we sang it at church after an excellent sermon by our faithful pastor and it was good! (one sidenote-I was happy and impressed that my 15 year-old niece who was visiting before going to Camp Tapawingo, knew all of the verses of the great hymn – yay for Amber!)

Then, Rebecca Writes selected Great as Thy Faithfulness as her hymn of the week. I posted over in her comments the following paragraphs and am including them here because I love Lamentations 3, which is a great encouragement. I love that Jeremiah didn’t wait until things were going his way to proclaim the mercy, love and faithfulness of God. Instead, he spoke it to his heart to remind and encourage him in the midst of his hard times. Don’t wait for things to feel better – Know God as He is, speak truth to your heart, and you will be able to endure, like Jeremiah, with great joy to the glory of God!

“But this I call to mind,and therefore I have hope: The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”The LORD is my portion,” says my soul,”therefore I will hope in him.” Lamentations 3:21-24

This hymn reminds me of one of my favorite scripture passages (above). Martyn-Lloyd Jones says in Spiritual Depression, It’s Causes and Cures, when in the depths to not allow your heart to talk to you but to speak truth to your heart. This is what Jeremiah does where he says, “but this I call to mind and therefore I have hope.” And what gives his downcast soul hope? The greatness of God, the abundance and newness of the love and mercy of God, and the greatness of His faithfulness! AMEN to that!

Leave a Reply

