The Book Sale – Desiring God

DESIRING GOD
$5, 2-DAY, ONLINE ONLY, THEY MUST BE CRAZY SALE

Keeping in mind that I am a stay-at-home mom and growing believer who has been blessed by my own reading of these books and blessed by my husband’s reading of these books, I humbly offer the following:

My recommendations for the sale of the year:

1. Desiring God (of course) at this price the flagship book of the radical movement of Christian Hedonism is a must-read for all! (and truly at any price it’s a must-read, but there’s no excuse now, is there?)

2. The Pleasures of God. John Piper said the Pleasures of God should actually come before Desiring God but ‘the child is father of the man’ and promises ‘that we will be most satisfied in God’ when we know why God himself is most satisfied in God. It is the ‘unimaginably good news that God delights fully in being God.’ One other thing I love about this book are the notes at the end of each chapter. John Piper was note-happy while writing this and I am glad!

3. Recovering Biblical Manhood and Womanhood. This book is essential reading and has been since it was born. The essays are focused and discerned and I personally appreciated all they offered. Again, the appendix section is part of the treasure of this book.

4. Don’t Waste your Life. We’ve bought a lot of these books during special sales and we give them away like mad! They are perspective-altering for the good!

5. Suffering and the Sovereignty of God. This book is compiled and written by John Piper and Justin Taylor, based on the 2005 National Conference. I had the great joy of attending the conference and know that you will be blessed if you read the book.

6. Beyond the Bounds. I haven’t read this book, but I have wanted to ever since the 2005 National Conference where I heard a superb sermon by Mark Talbot on Open Theism (click here and scroll to the bottom to listen to his sermon.) I really want this book!

7. Faithful Women and their Extraordinary God. This was a book that I truly enjoyed reading. I’ll be reading the Helen Roseveare chapter again before going to Minneapolis in Sept. for this year’s conference. Very inspiring.

What are you getting???

PS-

Al reminded me of

8. Let the Nations be Glad – offering a God-centered view of missions!

Leave a Reply

