The Gospel is more!

This is a video worth watching.

By the grace of God, I am learning through God’s Word, through Al, our Pastors, and my discipler (the pastor’s wife) that the Gospel’s life-changing power doesn’t end with my salvation.

Piper preaches this so clearly here.

Some excellent quotes from the sermon:

“We are strengthened by God through the Gospel every day till the day we drop – you never outgrow your need to preach to yourself the gospel.”

John Piper shared a verse that was “all-mighty” for him when he was on the threshold of his cancer: “I Thess. 5:9,10 – He has not destined you for wrath but to obtain salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ, who died for you so that whether you wake or sleep, you will live with him.”

He called the verse “peace like a river. That’s just Gospel – perfectly timed, perfectly applied, perfectly suited to my need.”

“If you immerse yourself in the whole(Bible), always with an eye to what Christ has wrought for you and purchased for you in this thick glorious history of God’s interaction with people, he will give you what you need.”

Now I find myself reading with my eyes opened to the gospel power in victorious Christian living. The gospel power in my sanctification. And I’m excited to be finding it in my reading of authors who are now dead or now living. Nancy Leigh DeMoss in “Holiness” and Walter Marshall in “The Gospel Mystery of Sanctification – Growing in Holiness by Living in Union with Christ.”

I wonder how I can be so obtuse! Growing in Christ!

Leave a Reply

