Al’s brother, Chris, is currently at To Every Tribe Ministries. I will try to post his prayer letter and some more pictures. Click on the read more to actually read more 🙂
May 2007
“Sheep without a Shepherd”

1,300 people and only one family that are believers. Welcome to La Barra de la Cruz, Mexico. I just got back from La Barra a few days ago from a dental clinic and I wanted to send out an update to let everyone know how it went!


For those who did not know, I went through some dental training a month ago to be able to clean and fill teeth with cavities. We use small hand drills and tools to clean and fix the teeth. While in La Barra, four other team members and I worked on over 150 people’s teeth. I have never liked the dentist at all so I think that God has a very funny sense of humor having me learn mission’s dentistry! The thing about being able to help people with their teeth and save the teeth is that it is a way to show love and compassion on the people as Jesus did while He was on earth. We see in Mark 6:34 “(Jesus) saw a great crowd, and he had compassion on them, because they were like sheep without a Shepherd”. The people in La Barra are people without a true knowledge of the Gospel message. We helped them with dentistry and we also prayed with each one of them in Spanish after we were finished working on them. We had interpreters to help us with this. I can’t wait till my Spanish is good enough to pray with people!

The one family there in La Barra that are believers have been facing persecution from the rest of the village. Some people have brought false charges that the group was being to loud when they gathered to try to get them to stop gathering. Another person threatened the life of a person who walked through their property by saying” If you walk through my property again it will be the last time you do” while holding his machete. Please pray for Roberto & Maria and their children to have safety and protection as well as boldness and strength to preach the gospel and live Godly lives. La Barra is a catholic village like most of Mexico who enjoys the fact that they can go to mass and the rest of the week enjoy their drunkenness, drug use and sleeping around without the priest saying it is bad. Pray that Roberto and his family will be “lights in the world” to a very dark La Barra. It says in Proverbs 24:11 “Rescue those who are being taken away to death; hold back those who are stumbling to the slaughter”. I love the people of La Barra and I want to be used by God to help rescue and hold those people back.

“It was an accident”

Children and adults use that phrase above a lot when things do not go the right way or when trying to cover something up. We are not perfect, FAR from it. God NEVER makes mistakes, He NEVER says “it was an accident” when it comes to His work. It was not an accident that my brother Allen asked me to go to John Piper’s pastor’s conference where I heard David Sitton from To every Tribes Ministries (TETM) speak about missions. It was not an accident that I saw God’s plan for me to go into missions and to go down to Guadalajara, Mexico to learn Spanish! It is not an accident I am with TETM now and training to be a missionary.

I am with TETM now in their Center for Pioneer Church Planting school which has classroom training as well as on the field training in Papua New Guinea and Mexico. In the classroom we have been studying cross cultural studies, Roman Catholicism, working with unreached peoples, Bible study methods, systematic theology, Paul’s missionary journey’s, the book of Romans and we are now doing a survey through the Old Testament. We will next be going through the book of Acts. We learn so much about the Bible as well as working with other cultures when presenting the Gospel. I love studying the Bible in the classroom as well as my own daily studies each morning.

After much prayer and counsel from a few people, I believe that God is calling me to begin raising support for full time missions. Starting this fall, after I am finished with the school, I will be returning to New Jersey to work and raise support. I will be speaking at churches and speaking to individuals. My heart breaks for people around the world who don’t even have the word Jesus in their vocabulary or truly don’t know the Gospel message. As it says in Romans 10:14 “And how are they to call on Him whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in Him of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone preaching?” I know that the Lord can use me in Papua New Guinea or Mexico, but with the growing love and desire for the Spanish language and La Barra, I setting my sights to go to La Barra.

Please pray for me in my missions training and in the decisions to come. I would also ask you to begin praying now if you would like to partner with me in missions full time. Would you be willing to support me on a regular basis and partner with me to go to the nations with the Gospel? Malachi 1:11 says “From the rising to the setting of the sun my name will be great among the nations”. Help me to go and show God’s love and compassion to people who need it badly. Please begin praying if the Lord is leading you to want to partner with me by supporting the missions work I will be doing. I want to be God’s hands and feet but I can’t do it without YOU!

Jesus said “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you” (Matthew 28:19-20). I am ready to go and training to go! Please pray for God’s leading in your partnering with me. Please pray for La Barra de la Cruz and for Mission work ALL over the world. I have added a prayer card with this letter that you can put in your car or on your refrigerator to help remind you to pray for me with direction as well as wisdom and knowledge in being obedient to God’s calling.

Please pray for the trip we are taking to the Coicoyan people in Oaxaca, Mexico from May 28- June 5, 2007! Thank you so much for you love & prayers & support! God Bless you!

In the Love of Christ,
Chris Johnson
908-229-0398
cjohnson@toeverytribe.com

“Here I am, send me; send me to the ends of the earth; send me to the rough, the savage pagans of the wilderness; send me from all that is called comfort on earth; send me even to death itself, if it be but in thy service, and to promote the Kingdom”
– David Brainerd (Missionary to the American Indians in early
1700’s)


Leave a Reply

