Grandma’s Memorial


Jean Myrtle Sangster Barlow
December 4, 1916 – April 16, 2007

Grandma’s memorial service in Markham, Ont. was today. I didn’t attend, but we did have services in Little Falls, NY for her 2 weeks ago.

I am sad that she is not here, but I am happy that she is with the Lord. There were not a lot of people at the services in Little Falls. She has two daughters and four grandchildren. We were there, along with spouses and friends.

My grandmother was a godly, lovely, dignified, loving, praying woman. I know that she prayed every single day for her family, each family member specifically. I shared at the services that her prayers are eternal because God is faithful. It is thrilling to try and imagine how God will answer her prayers through the coming generations long after we are gone. I praise the Lord that he blessed me with such a wonderful grandmother.

My mother called me at 8 a.m. on Monday, April 16th to let me know that Grandma died. For so many people, April 16th will mark the deadliest shooting on American soil. So tragic, evil & violent. I am thankful that the reminder of my Grandmother’s homegoing will always accompany the memories of the violence of April 16th – I will be reminded that there is victory – that for those who are in Christ – there is no sting in death – only an unimaginable joy at seeing Christ face to face.

May the Lord bless you and keep you
and cause his face to shine upon you.

Leave a Reply

