I Samuel 2

I am meditating on “Hannah’s Prayer” in the beginning of chapter two. It’s so rich and prepares me for some serious sovereign statements later in chapter two. If there is anyone reading my blog (and I have my doubts 🙂 ), I recommend reading I Samuel 2:1-10. Consider the statements of fact about God and his ways with people. Do you ‘amen’ Hannah’s prayer?

One of our pastors said last night at prayer meeting that there is a difference between saying – “Oh God, I’ll do whatever you want” and “Oh God, here I am, do whatever you will to me.” and has to do with submission (paraphrased by me as I dealt with a wiggly 5 year-old on my lap). Hannah seems to be all about what God does to us/for us regarding his sovereignty.

So here are the statements that come later in chapter two when talking about Eli’s sons and the confrontation of their sin…”‘If someone sins against a man, God will mediate for him, but if someone sins against the LORD, who can intercede for him?’ But they would not listen to the voice of their father, for it was the will of the LORD to put them to death.” Yikes!

My bible then gives Joshua 11:20 as a cross-reference…”For it was the LORD’s doing to harden their hearts that they should come against Israel in battle, in order that they should be devoted to destruction and receive no mercy, but be destroyed, just as the LORD commanded Moses.”

How can I ‘amen’ Hannah’s prayer if I don’t worship God in ALL of his attributes and ways with men? My meditation must be filled with a knowledge of God before I can begin to think of ‘application to my life’.

Leave a Reply

